Minutes of the KWORCC Annual Meeting Sheraton Leatherwood 1 & 2 6100 College Blvd Overland Park, Kansas 66211

October 17, 2022

The Annual Meeting of Kansas Workers Risk Cooperative for Counties (KWORCC) was held on October 17, 2022 in Overland Park at the Sheraton Hotel. Trustees attending were as follows: Mr. Gary Caspers, Cloud County Commissioner, President; Mr. Wayne Wilt, Cowley County Commissioner, Vice-President; Mr. Stan McEvoy, Decatur County Commissioner, Secretary; Ms. Linda Buttron, Jefferson County Clerk, Controller; Ms. Sandy Barton, Stanton County Clerk; Mr. Greg Riat, Pottawatomie County Commissioner; and Mr. Bonnie "Rob" Roberts, Miami County Commissioner.

Staff Present: Mr. James W. Parrish, Administrator; Mr. Brandon Mann, Deputy Administrator and Loss Prevention Manager; Mr. Jesse Pfannenstiel, Marketing Director and Loss Prevention Specialist; Mr. Benjamin Woner, Loss Prevention Specialist; and Mr. Ralph D. Unger, Member Services Representative.

Others present for KWORCC: Ms. Amanda Chamberland of TRISTAR and Mr. Eric Otting and Ms. Amy Dukes of Wendling Noe Nelson & Johnson LLC (WNNJ).

President Caspers called the meeting to order at 6:19 p.m. and verified that while a quorum was not present, there was the necessary number of members present to conduct ordinary business pursuant to Article 10.2(f) of the KWORCC Bylaws with notification of all actions taken provided to members.

Member County representatives were present as follows: Gary Caspers, Cloud County Commissioner, Delegate; Wayne Wilt, Cowley County Commissioner, Alternate; Stan McEvoy, Decatur County Commissioner, Delegate; Craig Chamberlin, Dickinson County Commissioner, Delegate; Susan Suster, Doniphan County Register of Deeds, Delegate; Gregory Bender, Ellsworth County Commissioner, Delegate; Brenda Pogue, Ford County Register of Deeds, Alternate; Ianne Dickinson, Franklin County Commissioner, Alternate; Duane Vollbracht, Gove County Commissioner, Delegate; Randall C. Braddock, Hamilton County Commissioner, Delegate; Marcus Rogge, Haskell County Commissioner, Delegate; Sarah Rains, Hodgeman County Clerk, Delegate; Daniel Brenner, Jackson County Commissioner, Alternate; Richard Malm, Jefferson County Commissioner, Alternate; Darrell Oetting, Lincoln County Commissioner, Alternate; David L. Lamb, Linn County Clerk, Alternate; Dave Crofoot, Marion County Commissioner, Delegate; Keith Becker, McPherson County Commissioner, Delegate; Bonnie E. "Rob" Roberts, Miami County Commissioner, Delegate; Robert Beaver, Montgomery County Commissioner, Delegate; Max Dibble, Pottawatomie County Commissioner, Delegate; Donna Patton, Reno County Clerk, Alternate; Terry David, Rice County Commissioner, Delegate; Steven Evert, Sherman County Commissioner, Alternate; Roger Allen, Smith County Commissioner, Delegate; Clayton Grimmett, Stafford County Commissioner, Delegate; John Smith, Stanton County Commissioner, Delegate; Lori Augustine, Trego County Clerk, Delegate; Nancy Hier, Wabaunsee County Commissioner, Delegate and Justin Clark, Woodson County Commissioner, Delegate.

President Caspers then addressed Agenda Item No. 2, "Approval of the Agenda." Dan Brenner, Jackson County Commissioner, moved to approve the agenda as presented. Keith Becker, McPherson County Commissioner, seconded the motion which CARRIED unanimously.

President Caspers addressed Agenda Item No. 3, "Consideration of the Minutes of the Meeting of October 18, 2021." Randy Braddock, Hamilton County Commissioner, moved to approve the minutes as presented. Craig Chamberlin, Dickinson County Commissioner, seconded the motion which CARRIED unanimously.

President Caspers next asked Mr. Parrish to address Agenda Item No. 4, "Election of KWORCC Trustees." He announced that there were three positions open, with nominations received for the following: Greg Riat, Pottawatomie County Commissioner, incumbent and Laura Sawyers, Comanche County Treasurer for the At Large position; Linda Buttron, Jefferson County Clerk, incumbent for the Northeast District; Sandy Barton, Stanton County Clerk, incumbent for the Southwest District. President Caspers then asked for nominations from the floor. Nancy Hier, Wabaunsee County Commissioner moved to close nominations. Sarah Rains, Hodgeman County Clerk seconded the motion which CARRIED unanimously. Mr. Parrish asked each candidate to make a brief statement about their candidacy. Nominees present addressed the meeting.

Whereupon, Mr. Parrish requested volunteers to collect and count the ballots. Stan McEvoy, Sandy Barton and Bonnie "Rob" Roberts volunteered.

President Caspers addressed the membership, pursuant to Agenda Item No. 5, "Status Report." He emphasized appreciation to the delegates and alternates for participating and continuing support of their county government risk insurance pool. President Caspers stated KWORCC now has 91 members including 80 county members and 11 county sponsored entities.

President Caspers explained that the KWORCC Board consists of county elected

officials who serve as trustees. The board meets each month and has three primary committees consisting of the Investment Committee, the Personnel Committee and the Audit Committee that meet periodically and make recommendations to the full board.

President Caspers reported that KWORCC has more than \$29 Million in assets. He stated that KWORCC continues to purposefully and dutifully strive to keep county workers safe, provide best-practices claims management and control administrative costs while implementing added-value resources.

President Caspers then called upon Mr. Eric Otting of WNNJ to address Agenda Item No. 6, "Financial Report." Mr. Otting presented the statement of financial condition and statement of operations as of August 31, 2021. He then asked for and responded to questions.

The volunteers returned with the KWORCC Board of Trustee election results. President Caspers announced that Greg Riat, Pottawatomie County Commissioner, Linda Buttron, Jefferson County Clerk and Sandy Barton, Stanton County Clerk were the winning nominees.

President Caspers asked Mr. Jes Pfannenstiel to address Agenda Item No. 7, "Safety Services Report." Mr. Pfannenstiel reported on the loss prevention staff's visits to counties for training and inspections. From January through October 7, 2022, KWORCC Loss Prevention Specialists performed a total of 301 county visits that included safety inspections of 650 county facilities. He encouraged the member representatives to contact KWORCC to schedule safety training and to take advantage of the online training and safety videos available for check out from KWORCC's extensive video library.

Mr. Pfannenstiel then explained that loss prevention staff will deliver plaques to the members who have the best loss ratios in three categories created according to premium. The 2021 awards are as follows:

<u>Premium</u>	Winners	<u>Ratio</u>
0-\$49,999	1st (tie) ~ Wallace County	0.000%
	1^{st} (tie) ~ Wabaunsee County	0.000%
	2nd ~ Chase County	0.379%
	$3rd \sim Cheyenne County$	1.439%
\$50,000—	1st ~ Smith County	0.000%

\$100,000	2nd ~ Republic County	0.208%
	3rd ~ Jewell County	3.121%
Greater than	1st ~ Cherokee County	6.879%
\$100,000	2nd ~ Osage County	6.899%
	3rd ~ Saline County	11.629%

President Caspers asked Mr. Parrish to report on Agenda Item No. 8, "Presentation of 2023 Budget." Mr. Parrish reviewed the budget with the membership and explained that it had been approved by the Board of Trustees at the September board meeting in accordance with KWORCC Bylaws and applicable law.

President Caspers addressed Agenda Item No. 9, "Other Business."

There being no further business, President Caspers declared the meeting adjourned at 6:47 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted for Approval

Greg Riat, Secretary